Report of the Election Committee On the Election Process and the Results for the Directors of the Hindu Temple of Arizona

Date of the Election: Dec. 3, 2006

Location: Hindu Temple of Arizona, 3019 N Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ **Election Committee members:** Debashis Panda, Rohit Tripathy and Subhash Arora (chair)

Background: The election committee was formed by the board of the Hindu Temple of Arizona to conduct the election of 6 directors to serve two year terms on the board starting in January 2007. The members of the election committee had agreed to carry out this task on a voluntary basis. The rules/process in place for previous elections and to be used for this election was provided to the election committee by the board for this election.

The board of the Hindu Temple of Arizona had also formed a nomination committee to invite nominations from volunteers to serve on the board and if acceptable to place their names on the ballot. The nomination committee also printed the ballots with the names of these candidates (see attachment 1). However, the nomination committee, in accordance with the constitution bylaws of the Hindu temple of Arizona, also invited nominations from the floor at the members meeting. Since the election followed immediately after the nominations, the nomination committee decided to ask members to vote the candidates whose names were on the ballot or to write in the names of candidates whose names were proposed from the floor and then vote accordingly to indicate their choice of the candidates for directorship. The nomination committee to adopt this for this election. Since the nomination committee retained the control over the ballot box, the election committee accepted it as part of the assignment for this election.

The treasure of the board of the Hindu Temple of Arizona provided a copy of the membership list to verify the eligibility of the members wishing to cast their vote.

The official ballot (attachment 1) contained the instructions for marking the ballot and what would invalidate a part of or the entire ballot. Based on past practice, the election committee had been asked to only declare the winners of the election without releasing the actual vote count for the candidates.

The Election Process:

The voting process was held in the dining hall of the temple.

The names of the additional nominations for each of the four regions were provided, to the election committee on a large sheet by the nomination committee. This list of the names of the candidates on the ballot as well as those from the floor as provided by the nomination committee were written on a large white sheet (2'X3') and taped on to the west wall of the dining area right above one of the ballot box. The election committee also transcribed these

names on to the large white board in the dining area (east wall) beside the second ballot box as well as the voting instructions from the ballot. The names of the candidates proposed from the floor are shown in the attachment 2.

Each ballot as contained in attachment 1 was numbered and signed by two of the three members of the election committee. The membership status of each member was first verified and then the voting member was asked to sign the sheet before being provide the ballot for casting their vote.

Before the start of the voting, the process was briefly reviewed with the membership who had collected in the main hall of the temple. It was explained that if they wish to vote for any member whose name was proposed from the floor, they write the name of the candidate nominated from the floor on the ballot and then mark the ballot to indicate their choice. Members were asked to be careful not to exceed the total number of directors whom they were voting for each region as well as the total of six for all regions combined.

The voting commenced at ~1:15 PM and was completed by 2:30 PM.

There after the election committee closed the doors of the dining area to start the counting process. Any ballot (for the specific region or the entire ballot) that was rejected was verified and agreed to by all three members of the election committee and signed by two of the three members of the election committee. The ballots that were found to be acceptable and counted were verified by two of the three members of the election committee and signed by one of the three members of the election committee.

The counting of the ballots was completed by 4 PM and was conveyed to the board which was at that time conducting the general body meeting. At its conclusion (4:30 PM), the secretary of the Hindu Temple of Arizona invited the election committee to announce the results to the general body.

The Results:

A total of 191 ballots were cast. Of these 9 ballots were completely rejected by the election committee. Winners were chosen on the basis of highest votes received for a minimum of directors to be elected for each region. The remaining directors to make a total of 6 were chosen on the basis of highest votes among remaining candidates with out exceeding the maximum for any of the 4 regions. On the basis of the total tally, the following candidates were declared winner by the election committee:

East (Required: Max 1; Min 0): Govind Satpathy West (Required: Max 3; Min 2): Ravi Aggarwal and Asha Thakur North (Required Max 2; Min 1): Asha Jain South (required Max 3; Min 2): Deepak Malhotra and Anil Gupta

Concluding Remarks:

The members of the election committee, expresses its appreciation to the board and the voting members of the Hindu Temple of Arizona as well as the candidates for their trust

support and cooperation during the election process. We congratulate the winners and wish them well in carrying out their duties in the service of the Hindu Temple of Arizona.



Hindu Temple of Arizona (2006 Official Ballot for Election of 2007 Board of Directors)

(2000 Official Danot for Election of 2007 Dourd of Directors)			
Ballot Number	Signature with date of two	1.	
	Election Officers (blue ink)		
		2.	

Instructions:

- 1. Please check to make sure **maximum of 6 total candidates** are selected, using minimum and maximum criteria for each region (East, West, North, South)
- 2. Maximum selections from more than one region will disqualify the Ballot
- 3. More than 6 selections will disqualify the ballot entirely.
- 4. Write in candidates are allowed only from floor nominations posted by Nominations Committee.
- 5. No proxies will be allowed.
- 6. Each voter shall have to submit the form separately (For example Self and spouse).
- 7. Corrections on the ballot will disqualify the ballot. If necessary, before casting vote request replacement ballot from Election Committee, who can reissue at their sole discretion.

East	West
1. Govinda Satpathy	1. Ravi Aggarwal
2	2. Asha Thakur
3	3
4	4
5	5
<u>Select Minimum 0 and Maximum 1</u> <u>Candidate</u>	Select Minimum 2 and Maximum 3 Candidates
North	South
1. Asha Jain	1. Deepak Malhotra
2	2. Anil Gupta
3	3
4	4
5	5
Select Minimum 1 and Maximum 2 Candidates	Select Minimum 2 and Maximum 3 Candidates

Attachment 1

East	West
1. Chandana Mishra	1. Tarun Shukla
	2. Manu Bajpai
2 3	3
4	4
5	5
Select Minimum 0 and Maximum 1 Candidate	Select Minimum 2 and Maximum 3 Candidates
North	<u>South</u>
1. Vijay Sethi	1. Manju Misra
2	2. Kulbhushan Chibber □
3	3
4	4
5	5
Select Minimum 1 and Maximum 2 Candidates	Select Minimum 2 and Maximum 3 Candidates

Attachment 2