# FINAL 2006 NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE REPORT

# For 2007 HTA Board of Directors

# November 30, 2006

### HTA Board of Directors:

Pursuant to the request of the HTA Board of Directors on November 29, 2006, the undersigned restructured 3-member Nominations Committee met on November 30, 2006 to review the candidates submitted to us for reconsideration and recommendation on the Official Elections Ballot for the 2007 HTA Board of Directors. Our discussions were focused on all of the candidates that had forwarded their names to us to date and those we found to be eligible for further consideration. After due deliberation, we reached unanimous agreement with the recommendations detailed below. We followed the nominations process below pursuant to guidelines provided in the HTA Constitution & Bylaws and various procedures laid out in the HTA Manual:

1. Nominations were sought from all eligible members through direct mailing, website announcements, temple announcements, temple postings, and open contact to encourage broad and diverse representation. All candidates submitted to us and to the prior Nominations Committee to date were considered.

2. Interested Nominees were consulted individually by one or more Nominating Committee members to ensure their understanding of the commitments required of them.

3. Each nominee was consulted to confirm their regional representation in accordance with the Constitution & Bylaws, including making sure they were consistent with their chosen designation in any prior years they were HTA Board members.

4. We rejected one or more candidates based on their informal commitment (i.e., no forms submitted) and/or ineligibility based on membership status (i.e., non-life members).

To date, the following six (6) candidates have voluntarily agreed to serve on the HTA Board and are found by the New Nominating Committee to be well qualified and eligible for the maximum six (6) available openings:

#### East (Minimum 0, Maximum 1 Opening)

### **Govinda Satpathy**

West (Minimum 2, Maximum 3 Openings)

Ravi Aggarwal

Asha Thakur

North (Minimum 1, Maximum 2 Openings)

Asha Jain

South (Minimum 2, Maximum 3 Openings)

Anil Gupta

### **Deepak Malhotra**

#### Maximum Total: 6 Openings

An Official Ballot will be prepared by the Nominations Committee, which will also allow for any floor candidates to be written in by voters on Election Day. The Nominations Committee will conclude its work after completing the following activities prior to the actual elections on December 3, 2006:

Provide the Secretary with the Official Ballot for printing and posting on HTA Website and Temple Bulletin Board prior to Election Day

- 1. Present this Report to the members.
- 2. Accept any eligible floor nominees pursuant to the Constitution & Bylaws.
- 3. Request each candidate to take 1 minute to introduce themselves to the members.
- 4. Post all candidate names for ease of reference by voting members prior to actual elections.

The Elections Committee will be responsible for providing directions on voting and for conducting the actual elections by verifying eligibility to vote, handing out the Official Ballots, and announcing results after counting & verification. Voters will be responsible for selecting maximum of six (6) total candidates as directed on the Ballot, including writing in any eligible floor candidates they may want to, as posted by the Nominations Committee upon conclusion of the Nominations Process.

Thank you for this opportunity to serve the Temple and for allowing us to facilitate the process of finding suitable candidates to serve on the 2007 Board of Directors.

Respectfully Submitted,

HTA 2006 NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Kamal Kharbanda, Chairwoman

Sanjay Sangani

Surinder Tuli

Hind by 14 above a		
(200 - 1 : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : : :		
	Instructions:   1. Please check to make sure maximum of 6 total candidates are selected, using minimum and maximum criteria for each region (East, West, North, South)   2. Maximum selections from more than one region will disqualify the Ballot   3. More than 6 selections will disqualify the ballot entirely.   4. Write in candidates are allowed only from floor nominations posted by Nominations Committee.   5. No proxies will be allowed.   6. Each voter shall have to submit the form separately (For example Self and spouse).   7. Corrections on the ballot will disqualify the ballot. If necessary, before casting vote request replacement ballot from Election Committee, who can reissue at their sole discretion.	
	East	West
	1. Govinda Satpathy □	1. Ravi Aggarwal
	2	2. Asha Thakur
	3	3
	4	4
	5	5
	Select Minimum 0 and Maximum 1 Candidate	Select Minimum 2 and Maximum 3 Candidates
	<u>North</u>	South
	1. Asha Jain 🗆	1 Deepak Malhotra 🗆
	<sup>2</sup> FOR PUBLI <sup>3</sup> RELEASE	Anil Gupta □ 3 4
	5	5
	Select Minimum 1 and Maximum 2 Candidates	Select Minimum 2 and Maximum 3 Candidates